Friday, December 18, 2015

Tomorrow I Will Come

The O Antiphons that are sung during Advent always seemed boring to me.  That was until this morning.  For some reason, I listened and watched a You Tube video of an explanation of the O Antiphons and understood it.  It sunk in!!!!  Thank you, Ave Maria press.

Maybe because the video hit two senses: audio and visual?  Maybe I got enough sleep last night?  Maybe my understanding has matured enough?  Maybe I'm sitting still?

Whatever.  I enjoyed the explanation Father Kubicki gives.  Father explains that these antiphons have been chanted since at least the early middle ages.  Each antiphon begins with "O".  They, unlike Christmas Carols are Advent hymns.  They should be sung from December 17 through December 23.  Each one begins with a title for Jesus:
  • December 17: O Sapientia (Wisdom)
  • December 18: O Adonai (Lord)
  • December 19: O Radix Jesse (Root of Jesse)
  • December 20: O Clavis David (O Key of David)
  • December 21: O Oriens (O Dayspring)
  • December 22: O Rex Gentium (O King of the nations)
  • December 23: O Emmanuel (With Us is God)
Not only are the titles of importance, so aren't the first letter of each title, read backwards.  Each letter makes up an acrostic puzzle.  Read the first letter from the bottom: 
These letters spell out the Latin words Eros Cras, meaning, Tomorrow, I will come.  Jesus did come, and tomorrow He will come again.

No comments:

It's the Culture

What's the difference between then and now?  Most think technological differences, but I contend it's cultural differences.  And...